Tour de Trossachs

October kicks off with the Tour de Trossachs mountain time trial, run by the Glasgow Ivy CC and stalwart race organiser Jeannette Hazlett. It is a true classic in the Scottish, and in fact the British racing calendar. Amazingly it has run since 1943.

The former winners read like a who’s who of Scottish Cycling greatness: Ian Steel in the 50s, Billy Billsland in the 60s, Robert Millar in 1978 and the 80s, Graeme Obree breaking the record on a fixed gear in the 90s, and and Jason McIntyre winning in 2005, 2006 and 2007, and breaking Obree’s record.

To illustrate the history, above is the Ivy’s Terence McMahon, aka twohitsthesix on twitter, starting the first climb up the Dukes Pass in 2009. The Chryston Wheelers veteran Ashby MacGowan is seen below climbing it in the 1960s. Picture by Robert aka Paris-Roubaix on flickr.

Ashby MacGowan, Chryston Wheelers

Robert recalls the course in the early 60s: Leaving from the outskirts of Aberfoyle, climbing the long Duke’s Pass, down the other side, alongside the lochs and over a very lumpy circuit to Callander, then climbing the Braes of Greenock, alongside the Lake of Menteith and finishing just before Aberfoyle. It was around 27 miles then. The course has been changed slightly now due to traffic, etc. You got a good push-off then!

Now it misses out the Braes of Greenock, and takes in a long drag out of Callander and the ‘Mini-Braes’ climb to Thornhill, before a flatter run-in.

I’ll try to post a bit more build-up in the next couple of weeks, including any pics and info of the Dukes Pass I can find, as it’s long overdue a post in my Scottish Climbs series.

Arthur Doyle: 2009 – veloresults
2009 photo album– Ivy CC
Jason McIntyre: 2008– veloresults
Ivy CC website 2008- hill climb records and other information
Jason McIntyre: 2007 – veloresults
Jason McIntyre: 2006 – PEZ cycling news