Carlos Riise, SVTTA 50

Carlos Riise, who if you don’t know comes from Shetland and is a TT specialist, finished the SVTTA 50 mile TT in 2:04:10 on Sunday.

The course takes in some of the ‘Kippen flats’ or Cambusbarron 10 course, before turning left up to Blairdrummond and left again along rolling roads towards Thornhill.

20110320_6006 Carlos in ’10’ action earlier this year

2:04:10 is a pretty good time but quite a bit slower than you might expect for Mr Riise, who is very handy indeed in a TT. However it is put firmly in perspective with the knowledge that he rode the whole 50 without a saddle or seatpost, having forgotten to pack it for the flight down to Stirling.

Quote of the day came from Steve Beech, Sandy Wallace Cycles ‘Carlos was riding a UCI-legal position – saddle 250 miles behind the bottom bracket’.

It would be remiss of me not to mention the winner Steve Nutley, who triumphed in this event coming off the back of a win in the Scottish 100 mile TT championships a week before (the open 100 champs, not a vets event) as well as 3rd in the Scottish 50.

Pos Name Club Cat Time
1 Steve Nutley Sandy Wallace Cycles V 1:49:24 (2nd on Standard)
2 Robin Wilkins Velo Ecosse S 1:49:29
3 James Cusick Glasgow Couriers V 1:51:02
4 Graeme Cockburn Glasgow Wheelers CC V 1:53:29
5 Stuart Moran Perth United CC S 1:54:50
6 Graeme Hay Stirling Bike Club V 1:55:14
7 David McLellan Fullarton Wheelers V 1:57:02
8 Keith Nettleton Deeside Thistle CC V 2:00:08
9 David Walker Kelso Wheelers V 2:00:15
10 Steven Rowley Berwick Wheelers S 2:00:16
11 Ross Laidlaw Kelso Wheelers S 2:00:36
12 Derek McMillan St Christophers CC V 2:00:49
13 Steve Beech Sandy Wallace Cycles V 2:01:28
14 Jeremy Tomlinson Fife Cyling 2000 V 2:02:10
15 Keith Anderson Royal Albert CC S 2:02:16
16 Bud Johnston Glasgow Couriers V 2:02:18
17 Alan Robertson East Kilbride RC V 2:02:42
18 Sadiq Mir West Lothian Clarion S 2:03:07
19 Christine McLean Shetland Wheelers FV 2:03:17 (1st Lady)
20 Scott Newman Inverclyde Velo S 2:03:28
21 Douglas Kirkham Musselburgh Roads CC V 2:03:33
22 Bill Aiton East Kilbride RC V 2:03:54
23 Brendan McCabe Aberdeen Wheelers V 2:03:59
24 Carlos Riise Shetland Wheelers V 2:04:10
25 William Bunyan Dunfermline CC V 2:05:10

Thanks to Michael Curran for pointing out this gem to me.
Full results and some post-race banter on BH forum